Select Committee on European Union Fortieth Report


Letter from Rt Hon Geoff Hoon MP, Minister for Europe, Foreign and Commonwealth Office to the Chairman

  On 29 March 2005, the UN Security Council adopted resolution 1591 (2005) imposing restrictive measures against Sudan and rebel groups involved in the Darfur conflict. The Resolution imposed a travel ban, arms embargo and asset freeze, owned or controlled, directly or indirectly by the persons designated by the UN Sudan Sanctions Committee. In response the EU adopted Common Position 2005/411/CFSP and implementing regulation No 1184/2005. This brought together into a single instrument the EU's existing comprehensive arms embargo on Sudan with the measures that the EU took to implement the assets freeze and travel ban imposed by UNSCR. The scope of the EU's embargo is wider than that imposed by UNSCR 1591 (2005), which is concentrated on the Darfur region. The Government strongly supports the measures contained in UNSCR 1591 (2005) and in the Common position.

  Article 8 of Common Position 2005/411/CFSP states that the measure imposed by the Common Position shall be reviewed 12 months after its adoption (or earlier in the light of the determinations of the Security Council regarding the assets freeze and travel ban imposed by UNSCR 1591 (2005)) and only repealed if the Council deems that their objectives have been met. I am writing to inform you that in line with Article 8 the relevant geographic working group has determined that the objectives of the Common Position have not been met and therefore they should not be repealed.

  I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that on 25 April 2006 the UN Security Council, based on a UK proposal, adopted resolution 1672 (2006) which designated four individuals as subject to the travel restrictions and assets freeze imposed by paragraph 3 of resolution 1591 (2005). These individuals will be added to the Annex of targeted individuals attached to Common Position 2005/411/CFSP by Council Decision on 29 May.

21 May 2006

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007