Select Committee on European Union Twenty-Ninth Report

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed by the House of Lords "to consider European Union documents and other matters relating to the European Union". The Committee has seven Sub-Committees which are:
Economic and Financial Affairs and International Trade (Sub-Committee A)
Internal Market (Sub-Committee B)
Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy (Sub-Committee C)
Environment and Agriculture (Sub-Committee D)
Law and Institutions (Sub-Committee E)
Home Affairs (Sub-Committee F)
Social and Consumer Affairs (Sub-Committee G)

Our Membership
The Members of the European Union Committee are:

Lord Blackwell Lord Mance
Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Lord Plumb
Lord DykesLord Powell of Bayswater
Lord FreemanLord Roper
Lord Grenfell (Chairman)Lord Sewel
Lord HarrisonBaroness Symons of Vernham Dean
Baroness Howarth of Breckland Lord Tomlinson
Lord JoplingLord Wade of Chorlton
Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Wright of Richmond
Lord Maclennan of Rogart

The Members of the Sub-Committee which carried out this inquiry (Sub-Committee F) (Home Affairs) are:

Lord Dear
Baroness Garden of Frognal
Lord Harrison
Baroness Henig
Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts
Lord Jopling (Chairman)
Lord Marlesford
Lord Mawson
Lord Teverson

Information about the Committee
The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by and available from The Stationery Office. For information freely available on the web, our homepage is:
There you will find many of our publications, along with press notices, details of membership and forthcoming meetings, and other information about the ongoing work of the Committee and its Sub-Committees, each of which has its own homepage.

General Information
General information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Contacts for the European Union Committee
Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website.
General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A OPW
The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5791.
The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008