The Barnett Formula - Select Committee on the Barnett Formula Contents

The Barnett Formula Committee

The Barnett Formula Committee

The Select Committee on the Barnett Formula was appointed by the House of Lords on 10 December 2008 with the orders of reference "To examine the purpose, methodology and application of the Barnett Formula as a means of determining funding for the Devolved Administrations of the United Kingdom, to assess the effectiveness of the calculation mechanism to meet its purpose and to consider alternative mechanisms.

These orders of reference exclude consideration of three main areas:

  • The overall system of funding the Devolved Administrations—in particular the question of whether greater tax-raising powers should be accorded to the devolved administrations;
  • Other political aspects of the devolution settlements; and
  • The distribution of funds within the different regions of the United Kingdom".

Lord Forsyth of Drumlean
Baroness Hollis of Heigham
Lord Lang of Monkton
Lord Lawson of Blaby
Earl of Mar and Kellie
Lord Moser
Lord Richard (Chairman)
Lord Rooker
Lord Rowe-Beddoe
Lord Sewel
Lord Smith of Clifton
Lord Trimble

Mr Alan Trench, Research Fellow in the School of Law at the University of Edinburgh and Mr Peter Kenway, Director of the New Policy Institute, were appointed as Specialist Advisers for the inquiry.

Information about the Committee and Publications
Information about the Select Committee on the Barnett Formula can be found on the internet at Committee publications, including reports, press notices, transcripts of evidence and government responses to reports, can be found at the same address.

Committee reports are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

General Information.
General Information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at:

Contacts for the Barnett Formula Committee
All correspondence should be addressed to:
The Clerk of the Ad Hoc Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW

The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4878.

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009