Register of Hereditary Peers - Contents

Register of Hereditary Peers

who wish to stand for election as members of the House of Lords under Standing Order 10 (Hereditary peers: by-elections) as at 18 November 2009

The House of Lords Act 1999 provided that "no-one shall be a member of the House of Lords by virtue of a hereditary peerage", but excepted from this general exclusion 90 hereditary peers and the holders of the offices of Earl Marshal and Lord Great Chamberlain. Since the end of the 2001-02 parliamentary session, section 2(4) of the 1999 Act and Standing Order 10 have provided for a vacancy among any of the 90 excepted hereditary peers to be filled by means of a by-election. Paragraph (5) of Standing Order 10 requires the Clerk of the Parliaments to maintain and publish annually a register of hereditary peers (other than peers of Ireland) who wish to stand in any such by-election.

The following hereditary peers have indicated their wish to stand in any by-election under Standing Order 10. This list includes both hereditary peers who were members of the House before the enactment of the 1999 Act, and hereditary peers who have succeeded to their peerages since the 1999 Act or were not previously in receipt of a writ of summons and have been added to the register under Standing Order 11 in the case of those added since 23 January 2001, or who satisfied the Crown Office of their succession before that date.

Hereditary peers may join or leave the register at any point. Up-to-date information may be obtained from the Clerk of the Journals, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW.

Abergavenny, M.

Abinger, L.

Addison, V.

Aldenham, L.

Aldington, L.

Alexander of Tunis, E.

Annaly, L.

Ashbourne, L.

Ashton of Hyde, L.

Aylesford, E.

Balfour, E.

Bedford, D.

Belper, L.

Bethell, L.

Biddulph, L.

Birdwood, L.

Birkett, L.

Bolton, L.

Borwick, L.

Boston, L.

Brentford, V.

Bristol, M.

Bruntisfield, L.

Buccleuch and Queensberry, D.

Burnham, L.

Cadman, L.

Cairns, E.

Calverley, L.

Camoys, L.

Camrose, V.

Carew, L.

Carlisle, E.

Cawley, L.

Clancarty, E. (V. Clancarty)

Clanwilliam, E. (L. Clanwilliam)

Clifford of Chudleigh, L.

Clydesmuir, L.

Cobham, V.

Colgrain, L.

Combermere, V.

Cork and Orrery, E. (L. Boyle)

Cowley, E.

Cranbrook, E.

Cromer, E.

Cromwell, L.

Darcy de Knayth, L.

Daresbury, L.

Darling, L.

Daventry, V.

Davies, L.

De La Warr, E.

De L'Isle, V.

De Ramsey, L.

Devonport, V.

Devonshire, D.

Drogheda, E. (L. Moore)

Dudley, L.

Dundonald, E.

Durham, E.

Effingham, E.

Enniskillen, E. (L. Grinstead)

Fortescue, E.

Gage, V. (L. Gage)

Gainford, L.

Gladwyn, L.

Glanusk, L.

Glendyne, L.

Gormanston, V. (L. Gormanston)

Grantley, L.

Gray, L.

Grimthorpe, L.

Hacking, L.

Halifax, E.

Hamilton of Dalzell, L.

Hanworth, V.

Hardinge, V.

Harlech, L.

Harrowby, E.

Head, V.

Herbert, L.

Hereford, V.

Hill, V.

Hindlip, L.

HolmPatrick, L.

Hood, V.

Iddesleigh, E.

Inchyra, L.

Ironside, L.

Iveagh, E.

Kenilworth, L.

Kilbracken, L.

Killearn, L.

Kimberley, E.

Kinnoull, E. (L. Hay)

Latymer, L.

Lauderdale, E.

Lawrence, L.

Layton, L.

Leathers, V.

Lichfield, E.

Limerick, E. (L. Foxford)

Lonsdale, E.

Mackintosh of Halifax, V.

McNair, L.

Macpherson of Drumochter, L.

Margadale, L.

Massereene and Ferrard, V. (L. Oriel)

Melville, V.

Meston, L.

Milford, L.

Milner of Leeds, L.

Milverton, L.

Minto, E.

Monckton of Brenchley, V.

Monk Bretton, L.

Monkswell, L.

Morris, L.

Morris of Kenwood, L.

Mountgarret, V. (L. Mountgarret)

Mowbray, Segrave and Stourton, L.

Napier and Ettrick, L.

Napier of Magdâla, L.

Nathan, L.

Nelson of Stafford, L.

Newall, L.

Norrie, L.

Nunburnholme, L.

Ogmore, L.

Oranmore and Browne, L. (L. Mereworth)

Oxfuird, V.

Parmoor, L.

Pender, L.

Penrhyn, L.

Polwarth, L.

Poole, L.

Rathcavan, L.

Renwick, L.

Revelstoke, L.

Robertson of Oakridge, L.

Rowallan, L.

Runciman of Doxford, V.

Rutland, D.

St Davids, V.

Samuel, V.

Savile, L.

Scarbrough, E.

Seaford, L.

Sempill, L.

Shaftesbury, E.

Shannon, E. (L. Carleton)

Shaughnessy, L.

Somerset, D.

Spens, L.

Stockton, E.

Strange, L.

Strathcarron, L.

Strathmore and Kinghorne, E.

Sudeley, L.

Sutherland, D.

Swansea, L.

Swinton, E.

Terrington, L.

Teviot, L.

Teynham, L.

Tollemache, L.

Torrington, V.

Tryon, L.

Vaux of Harrowden, L.

Vernon, L.

Vivian, L.

Weir, V.

Wemyss and March, E.

Wharton, L.

Wilton, E.

Woolton, E.

Wrenbury, L.

Yarborough, E.

Younger of Leckie, V.

previous page contents

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009