Making it work: the European Social Fund - European Union Committee Contents


The Members of the Sub-Committee which conducted this inquiry were:

Lord Cotter

Lord Eames

Baroness Gale (until November 2009)

Baroness Henig (from November 2009)

Baroness Howarth of Breckland (Chairman)

Lord Inglewood

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope

Baroness Miller of Hendon (from November 2009)

Baroness Morgan of Huyton (until November 2009)

Baroness Perry of Southwark (until November 2009)

Baroness Prosser (from November 2009)

Lord Wade of Chorlton

Baroness Young of Hornsey

Declarations of Interest

Lord Cotter

No relevant interests

Lord Eames

No relevant interests

Baroness Gale

No relevant interests

Baroness Henig

Chair, Security Industry Authority

President, Association of Police Authorities

Baroness Howarth of Breckland

Patron and Trustee, Little Hearts Matter

Chair, CAFCASS (Children and Families Court Advisory and Support Service)

President and Chair, Livability

Secretary, All Parliamentary Group for Children

Member, British Association of Social Workers

Associate, Association of Directors of Adult Social Services

Lord Inglewood

Political Adviser, House of Lords for the Estates Business Group

Chairman, CN Group (Media)

Chairman, Carr's Milling Industries plc (food and agriculture)

Director, Pheasant Inn (Bassenthwaite Lake) Ltd (hotel)

Membership of public bodies:

Chairman, Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art

Friends of the Lake District (nominated by the Committee for the National Consultative Council)

President, Cumbria Tourist Board

Member, Historic Houses Association Finance & Policy Committee

Chairman of the Carlisle Cathedral Development Trust Project

Trustee, Elton Estate, Cambridgeshire

Trustee, Raby Estates, Co Durham and Shropshire

Trustee, Thoresby Estate, Nottinghamshire

Trustee, Calvert Trust

Trustee, Settle-Carlisle Railway Trust

Trustee, Whitehaven Community Trust Ltd

Member, Bar

Member, Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors

Fellow, Society of Antiquaries of London

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

No relevant interests

Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope

Non-Executive, non-remunerated Board Member of the Wise Group

Baroness Miller of Hendon

Director of Multrex Securities Ltd (private family-controlled property investment company)

Significant shareholdings: Blanway Investments Ltd, Multrex Securities Ltd and Parkwood Securities Ltd

Landholdings: (commercial) factory premises in Newport, Gwent; 50% share in premises in Bridlington, Yorks and Wigan, Greater Manchester

Trusteeship: Minerva Educational Trust

Baroness Morgan of Huyton

Non-Executive Board Member of Southern Cross Healthcare PLC

Member Advisory Panel Lloyds Pharmacy

Board Member Olympic Delivery Authority

Non-Executive Board Member of Carphone Warehouse PLC

Advisor to Board of a charity (ARU), (one of whose areas of work is deinstitutionalisation in Romania and Bulgaria)

Baroness Perry of Southwark

No relevant interests

Baroness Prosser

Deputy Chair, Equality and Human Rights Commission

Non-Executive Director, Royal Mail Holdings Board

Lord Wade of Chorlton

Davies Wallis Foyster (non-parliamentary consultant)

King Sturge (non-parliamentary consultant)

William Wild & Son Ltd (remunerated directorship)

Choulton Services Ltd (remunerated directorship)

NIMTECH (remunerated directorship)

RisingStars Growth Fund Ltd (remunerated directorship)

Country Pubs Ltd (remunerated directorship)

Midas Capital Plc (remunerated directorship)

Rocktron Ltd (remunerated directorship)

Choulton Services Ltd (consultancy and investment) (controlling shareholdings)

William Wild & Son Ltd (farming and property (controlling shareholdings)

Farmland and commercial property in Cheshire (landholdings)

Chairman of Trustees of Cheshire Historic Churches Preservation Trust

Member of Foundation for Science and Technology

Vice-President, North of England Zoological Society

Chairman of Trustees of SAGAR Pension Fund

Chairman of Trustees of Vymura Pension Fund

Chairman of Trustees of Children's Safety Education Foundation

Trustee of John Beckett Foundation

Baroness Young of Hornsey

Member, All Party Parliamentary Group for Humanists

Non-Executive Director, The National Archives


Board of Directors, South Bank Centre

Member, Court of Governors at LSC

Visiting Professor, Birkbeck College

Hon. Assoc. fellow at Warwick University

Ambassador, Ethical Fashion Forum

Patron, Josephine Wolf Trust

Patron, Post Adoption Centre

Patron, Action Space, visual arts and learning disabled people

Member, Culture Committee of UK UNESCO Commission

A full list of registered interests of Members of the House of Lords can be found at

John Bell acted as Specialist Adviser for this Inquiry and would like to declare the following relevant interests:

John Bell is an independent researcher and consultant who is senior partner of curvedthinking partnership.

Policy Editor of the web site since August 2009, working as a sub-contractor via curvedthinking partnership to contract holder Tribal Education. is supported by the ESF England 2007-2013 programme via the National Technical Assistance budget, contract managed by DWP ESF Division.

Independent evaluator of the SAM project, delivered by Ipswich CSV. Appointed as independent evaluation contractor in November 2009 via curvedthinking partnership, funded under the Innovation Transnationality and Mainstreaming ESF England 2007-2013 programme.

Currently shortlisted as potential evaluator of London Groundwork trust Employability project, in partnership with Rocket Science, funded under the Innovation Transnationality and Mainstreaming ESF England 2007-2013 programme.

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010