First Report - Selection Committee Contents

The Committee of Selection

THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION is appointed to select and propose to the House the names of the Lords to form each select committee of the House (except the Committee of Selection itself and any committee otherwise provided for by statute or by order of the House) or any other body not being a select committee referred to it by the Chairman of Committees, and the panel of Deputy Chairmen of Committees.

Current Membership

The members of the Committee of Selection are:

Baroness Anelay of St Johns

Lord Bassam of Brighton

Lord Brabazon of Tara (Chairman)

Baroness D'Souza

Baroness Goudie

Lord Hylton

Lord McNally

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Lord Shutt of Greetland

Lord Strathclyde

Lord Wakeham

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is on the internet at

Contacts for the Committee of Selection

All correspondence should be addressed to:

The Clerk of the Committee of Selection,

House of Lords,

London SW1A 0PW.

The telephone number for enquiries regarding the Committee's work is 020 7219 3736.

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010