Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill - Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee Contents

The Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee

The Committee is appointed by the House of Lords each session with the terms of reference "to report whether the provisions of any bill inappropriately delegate legislative power, or whether they subject the exercise of legislative power to an inappropriate degree of parliamentary scrutiny; to report on documents and draft orders laid before Parliament under sections 14 and 18 of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006; and to perform, in respect of such draft orders, and in respect of subordinate provisions orders made or proposed to be made under the Regulatory Reform Act 2001, the functions performed in respect of other instruments and draft instruments by the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments".

Current membership

The members of the Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee are:

Baroness Andrews

Lord Blackwell

Rt Hon the Lord Butler of Brockwell

Lord Carlile of Berriew QC

Baroness Gardner of Parkes

Lord Haskel

Rt Hon. the Lord Mayhew of Twysden QC DL

Baroness O'Loan

Lord Soley

Baroness Thomas of Winchester (Chairman)

Registered Interests

Members' registered interests may be examined in the online Register of Lords' Interests at The Register may also be inspected in the Parliamentary Archives and is available for purchase from the Stationery Office. Declared interests for this Report are in Appendix 1.


The Committee's reports are published by the Stationery Office by Order of the House in hard copy and on the internet at

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Contacts for the Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee

Any query about the Committee or its work should be directed to the Clerk of the Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee, Delegated Legislation Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. The telephone number is 020-7219 3103 and the fax number is 020-7219 2571. The Committee's email address is

Historical Note

In February 1992, the Select Committee on the Committee work of the House, under the chairmanship of Earl Jellicoe, noted that "in recent years there has been considerable disquiet over the problem of wide and sometimes ill-defined order-making powers which give Ministers unlimited discretion" (Session 1991-92, HL Paper 35-I, paragraph 133). The Committee recommended the establishment of a delegated powers scrutiny committee which would, it suggested, "be well suited to the revising function of the House". As a result, the Select Committee on the Scrutiny of Delegated Powers was appointed experimentally in the following session. It was established as a sessional committee from the beginning of Session 1994-95. The Committee also has responsibility for scrutinising legislative reform orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006.

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010