Subsidiarity assessment: distribution of food products to deprived persons - European Union Committee Contents

The European Union Committee

The Committee considers EU documents in advance of decisions being taken on them in Brussels, in order to influence the Government's position and to hold them to account.

The Government are required to deposit EU documents in Parliament, and to produce within two weeks an Explanatory Memorandum setting out the implications for the UK. The Committee examines these documents, and 'holds under scrutiny' any about which it has concerns, entering into correspondence with the relevant Minister until satisfied. Letters must be answered within two weeks. Under the 'scrutiny reserve resolution', the Government may not agree in the EU Council of Ministers to any proposal still held under scrutiny; reasons must be given for any breach.

The Committee also conducts inquiries and makes reports. The Government are required to respond in writing to a report's recommendations within two months of publication. If the report is for debate, then there is a debate in the House of Lords, which a Minister attends and responds to.

The Committee has seven Sub-Committees which are:

Economic and Financial Affairs and International Trade (Sub-Committee A)

Internal Market, Energy and Transport (Sub-Committee B)

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy (Sub-Committee C)

Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment (Sub-Committee D)

Justice and Institutions (Sub-Committee E)

Home Affairs (Sub-Committee F)

Social Policies and Consumer Protection (Sub-Committee G)

Our Membership

The Members of the European Union Committee are:
Lord BownessLord Plumb
Lord Carter of Coles Lord Richard
Lord DearLord Roper (Chairman)
Lord Dykes The Earl of Sandwich
Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Sharp of Guildford
Lord HarrisonLord Teverson
Baroness Howarth of Breckland Lord Tomlinson
Lord Jopling Lord Trimble
Baroness O'Cathain Baroness Young of Hornsey
Lord Paul

The Members of the Sub-Committee which prepared this report are listed in Appendix 1.

Information about the Committee

The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by TSO. For information freely available on the web, our homepage is

There you will find many of our publications, along with press notices, details of membership and forthcoming meetings, and other information about the ongoing work of the Committee and its Sub-Committees, each of which has its own homepage.

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Sub-Committee Staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Paul Bristow (Clerk), Alistair Dillon (Policy Analyst) and Melanie Moore (Committee Assistant).

Contacts for the European Union Committee

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website.

General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

General enquiries 020 7219 5791. The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010