Innovation in EU agriculture - European Union Committee Contents


Below is a list of the main acronyms used in this report.

AHDB    Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board

AKIS      Agricultural Knowledge and Innovation System

BBSRC    Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

CAP      Common Agricultural Policy

CLA      Country Land and Business Association

COPA-COGECA  Committee of Professional Agricultural Organisations, General Confederation of Agricultural Cooperatives

Defra      Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DG      Directorate-General (of the European Commission)

EIP      European Innovation Partnership

ERA-NET  networking of research programmes in the European Research Area

ERDF      European Regional Development Fund

FAS      Farm Advisory System (under the CAP)

FP      Framework Programme (of research supported by the EU)

FSA      Food Standards Agency

GMO      Genetically Modified Organism

GPS      Global Positioning System

INIA  National Institute for Farming and Food Investigation and Technology (of Spain)

INRA      National Institute for Agricultural Research (of France)

JIC      John Innes Centre

JPI      Joint Programming Initiative

NFU      National Farmers' Union

RAE      Research Assessment Exercise

RDA      Regional Development Agency

REF      Research Excellence Framework

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011