Towards a Financial Transactions Tax? - European Union Committee Contents


Evidence is published online at and available for inspection at the Parliamentary Archives (020 7219 5314)

Evidence received by the Committee is listed below in chronological order of oral evidence session and in alphabetical order. Those witnesses marked with * gave both oral evidence and written evidence. Those marked with ** gave oral evidence and did not submit any written evidence. All other witnesses submitted written evidence only.

Oral evidence in chronological order

*  (QQ 1-28)  Confederation of British Industry (CBI)

*      Trades Union Congress (TUC)

*  (QQ 29-56)  John Chown, Chown Dewhurst LLP

*      John Vella, Senior Research Fellow, Oxford University Centre       for Business Taxation

*      David Hillman, Director, Stamp Out Poverty

**      Richard Gower, Senior Policy Advisor, Oxfam

*  (QQ 57-86)  International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA)

*      BlackRock

**  (QQ 87-96)  Sony Kapoor, Managing Director, Re-Define

*  (QQ 97-120)  Mark Hoban MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury

*  (QQ 121-144)  Algirdas Šemeta, EU Commissioner for Taxation and           Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud

Alphabetical list of all witnesses

  The Alternate Investment Management Association Limited (AIMA)

  Association of British Insurers (ABI)

  The Association of Corporate Treasurers (ACT)

  Association for Financial Markets in Europe (AFME)

  The Association of Private Client Investment Managers and Stockbrokers   (APCIMS)


*  BlackRock (QQ 57-86)

  British Bankers' Association

  The British Land Company

  British Property Federation (BPF)

  The Charity Tax Group

  John Chapman

*  John Chown, Chown Dewhurst LLP (QQ 29-56)

  City of London Corporation

*  Confederation of British Industry (CBI) (QQ 1-28)

  Frank Cranmer

  Sylvie Goulard MEP

**  Richard Gower, Senior Policy Advisor, Oxfam (QQ 29-56)

*  Mark Hoban MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury (QQ 97-120)

  Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA)

*  International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA) (QQ 57-86)

  Investment Management Association (IMA)

**  Sony Kapoor, Managing Director, Re-Define (QQ 87-96)


  Mayor of London

  Arlene McCarthy MEP


  New City Initiative

*  Algirdas Šemeta, EU Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union,   Audit and Anti-Fraud (QQ 121-144)

  Peter Sinclair

*  Stamp Out Poverty (QQ 29-56)

*  Trades Union Congress (TUC) (QQ 1-28)

  Unite the Union

  Bart Van Vooren

*  John Vella, Clemens Fuest and Tim Schmidt-Eisenlohr, Oxford University   Centre for Business Taxation (QQ 29-56)

  Wellcome Trust

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012