The EU's Global Approach to Migration and Mobility - European Union Committee Contents


AFSJ          Area of Freedom, Security and Justice

CAMM        Common Agenda on Migration and Mobility

CEAS          Common European Asylum System

CER          Centre for European Reform

Common Travel Area  The travel zone between the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland, which also includes the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands. People moving between these territories are subject to minimal border controls. The respective authorities cooperate closely on immigration matters and in tackling cross-border crime

COMPAS  Centre on Migration, Policy and Society, University of Oxford

Council of Europe  Founded in 1949, the Council of Europe is an intergovernmental organisation between 47 countries, which promotes cooperation in legal standards, human rights, democratic development, the rule of law and culture. It is distinct from the EU and the European Court of Human Rights forms part of it

DG DEVCO  Commission Directorate-General for Development and Cooperation - EuropeAid

DG EMPL  Commission Directorate-General Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion

DG HOME  Commission Directorate-General for Home Affairs

DWP          Department for Work and Pensions

EASO          European Asylum Support Office

EEA          European Economic Area

ERF          European Refugee Fund

EU  The 27 Member States that currently comprise the European Union

EU15  The number of Member States which comprised the EU prior to the accession of ten candidate countries on 1 May 2004. The EU15 included Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom

EEAS          European External Action Service

ENP          European Neighbourhood Policy

EURODAC  European Dactyloscopy (European fingerprint database for identifying asylum seekers and irregular border-crossers)

Europol        European Police Office

EUROSUR        European border surveillance system

FCO          Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Frontex  From the French—Frontières extérieures—for "external borders". Otherwise, the European agency for the management of operational cooperation at the external borders

GAMM        Global Approach to Migration and Mobility

GATS          General Agreement on Trade in Services

GDP          Gross Domestic Product

GFMD        Global Forum for Migration and Development

ICMPD  International Centre for Migration Policy Development

ICT          Information and Communications Technology

ILO          International Labour Organisation

IOM          International Organization on Migration

JHA          Justice and Home Affairs

JRC          Joint Readmission Committees

LIBE  European Parliament Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

MAC          Migration Advisory Committee

MFF          Multiannual Financial Framework

NGO          Non-governmental organisation

OECD  Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

OECD-DAC        OECD's Development Assistance Committee

PACE          Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of            Europe

PPP          Purchasing Power Parity

RPP          Regional Protection Programme

Schengen Area  The borderless area which is comprised of 26 European countries, including all EU Member States except the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland, and four non-EU countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. However, Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania have yet to become full members of the Area. It has a common external border

SIS          Schengen Information System

TEU          Treaty on European Union

TFEU          Treaty on the Functioning of the European


UCAS          Universities and Colleges Admissions Service

UKBA        United Kingdom Border Agency

UKREP  The Brussels office of the United Kingdom Permanent Representative to the EU

UN          United Nations

UNHCR  United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

UNRWA        United Nations Relief and Works Agency

VIS          Visa Information System

previous page contents

© Parliamentary copyright 2012