The implementation of open access - Science and Technology Committee Contents


Evidence is published online at and available for inspection at the Parliamentary Archives (020 7219 5314)

Evidence received by the Committee is listed below in chronological order of oral evidence session and in alphabetical order. Those witnesses marked with * gave both oral evidence and written evidence. Those marked with ** gave oral evidence and did not submit any written evidence. All other witnesses submitted written evidence only.

Oral evidence in chronological order

*  QQ 1-16  Professor Dame Janet Finch, Chair of Working Group on        Expanding Access to Published Research Findings

**  QQ 17-37  Professor Ian Walmsley, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research,      Academic Services and University Collections), University      of Oxford

**  Professor Matthew Bennett, Vice-Chancellor responsible for Research, Enterprise and Internationalisation, University of Bournemouth

**  Professor Maggie Dallman, Principal, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Imperial College London

*  QQ 38-51  Steven Hall, Managing Director, Institute of Physics (IOP)      Publishing and member, the Finch Group

*      Richard Mollett, Chief Executive, The Publishers Association

**  Dr Rita Gardner, Director, Royal Geographical Society, Chair, Academy of Social Sciences working group on open access, and member, the Finch Group

*  QQ 52-70  Professor Rick Rylance, Chair of Research Councils UK      (RCUK)

*  Professor Douglas Kell, RCUK Information Champion, Resarch Councils UK (RCUK)

*  David Sweeney, Director (Research, Innovation and Skills), Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE)

*  QQ 71-83  Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister of State for Science and      Universities, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills      (BIS)

Alphabetical list of all witnesses

  1994 Group

  Academy of Social Sciences

  Association for Learning Technology (ALT)

  Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP)

  Jeffrey Beall, University of Colorado Denver

**  Professor Matthew Bennett, University of Bournemouth

  British Academy

  British Heart Foundation (BHF)

  British Medical Journal (BMJ)

  British Psychological Society (BPS)

  British Sociological Association (BSA)

  Abby Clobridge, Clobridge Consulting

  Professor Stephen Curry PhD, Imperial College London

**  Professor Maggie Dallman, Imperial College London

*  Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS)

  Dr Paola Di Maio,

  Economic History Society

  Electronic Publishing Trust for Development

  Emerald Group Publishing Limited

*  Professor Dame Janet Finch, Working Group on Expanding Access to Research Publications

  Frederick J. Friend, University College London (UCL)

**  Dr Rita Gardner, Royal Geographical Society, Academy of Social Sciences working group on open access, the Finch Group

  Geological Society of London (GSL)

*  Steven Hall, Institute of Physics (IOP) Publishing, the Finch Group

  Professor Stevan Harnad, University of Southampton, Universit du Qubec Montral and McGill University

  Hellenic and Roman Societies

  Emeritus Professor John R Helliwell, University of Manchester

  Professor Tony Hey, Microsoft Research

*  Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE)

  Human Relations

*  Institute of Physics (IOP)

  International Society for First World War Studies

  International Society for the Study of Behavioural Development (ISSBD)

  John Innes Centre

  Dr Michael Jubb, Working Group on Expanding Access to Research Publications

  Dr Paul Kirby, University of Sussex

  London Higher Research Excellence Group

  London Mathematical Society

  Dr Peter J. Matthews, National Museum of Ethnology, Japan

  Dr Heather Morrison

  Ross Mounce, PhD student, University of Bath

  Dr Tom Olijhoek

  Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)

  Open Book Publishers CIC Limited

  Open Humanities Press (OHP)

  Operational Research Society (ORS)

  Public Library of Science (PLOS)

  Political Studies Association

*  The Publishers Association

  Reed Elsevier

  Regional Studies Association (RSA)

*  Research Councils UK (RCUK)

  Research Libraries UK (RLUK)

  Royal Astronomical Society

  Royal Historical Society

  The Royal Society

  Royal Statistical Society (RSS)

  Russell Group

  Dr Meera Sabaratnam, University of Cambridge

  SAGE Publications Limited

  The Sainsbury Laboratory

  Social History Society

  Society for Research into Higher Education (SRHE)

  Society of Biology

  Socio-Legal Studies Association (SLSA)

  SPARC Europe (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)

  Dr Michael Taylor, University of Bristol

  Dr Daniel Turner, Sheffield Hallam University

  United Kingdom Council of Research Repositories (UKCoRR)

  Universities UK

  University College London (UCL)

  University of Bristol

  University of East Anglia

  Dr Johannes J M Velterop

**  Professor Ian Walmsley, University of Oxford

  Wellcome Trust


  Zoological Society of London (ZSL)

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013