Sport and exercise science and medicine: building on the Olympic legacy to improve the nation's health - Science and Technology Committee Contents


Evidence is published online at and available for inspection at the Parliamentary Archives (020 7219 5314).

Evidence received by the Committee is listed below in chronological order of oral evidence session and in alphabetical order. Those witnesses marked with * gave both oral evidence and written evidence. Those marked with ** gave oral evidence and did not submit any written evidence. All other witnesses submitted written evidence only.

Oral evidence in chronological order

**  QQ 1-25  Professor Sir Steve Bloom, Head of Division for Diabetes,
      Endocrinology and Metabolism, Chair of the Academic
      Section of Investigative Medicine at Imperial College London
      and Chief of Service for Pathology at Imperial College
      Healthcare NHS Trust

**  Professor Tim Cable, Director of the School of Sport and Exercise Sciences and Professional of Exercise Physiology, Liverpool John Moores University

*  Colonel John Etherington, Vice President, Faculty of Sport and Exercise Medicine (UK), Director Defence of Rehabilitation and Consultant in Rheumatology and Rehabilitation at the Defence Medical Rehabilitation Centre, Headley Court

*  Professor Hugh Montgomery, Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, University College London (UCL) and Director, UCL Institute for Human Health and Performance

*  QQ 26-68  Mr David Brooker, Director, Legacy, Department for
    Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)

*  Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer (England) and Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Health

**  Mr Mike Farrar, Government physical activity champion and Chief Executive of the NHS Confederation

**  Professor Mike Kelly, Director, Public Health Excellence Centre, National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)

*  QQ 69-103  Liz Nicholl, Chief Executive, UK Sport

**  Professor David Patterson, Chairman, Institute of Sports and Exercise Medicine

*  Professor Alan Silman, Medical Director, Arthritis Research UK

*  Professor Nick Wareham, Director of the Medical Research Council Epidemiology Unit

*  QQ 104-128  Anne Milton MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State
    (Minister for Public Health), Department of Health

*  QQ 129-160  Hugh Robertson MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State
      (Minister for Sport and the Olympics), Department for
      Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)

Alphabetical list of all witnesses

*  Arthritis Research UK

  Professor Greg Atkinson, Teesside University

  British Association for Applied Nutrition and Nutritional Therapy (BANT)

  British Association of Sport and Exercise Science (BASES)

*  Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)

*  Department of Health (DH)

*  Colonel John Etherington, Faculty of Sport and Exercise Medicine

  Intelligent Health

  Professor David Jones, Manchester Metropolitan University

  Professor Alison McConnell, Brunel University

  Ministry of Defence (MOD)

*  Professor Hugh Montgomery, University College London (UCL)

  Professor David Mullineaux, University of Lincoln

  The Physiological Society

  Register of Exercise Professionals (REPs)

  Research Councils UK (RCUK)

  Royal College of Physicians (RCP)

  Sport and Exercise Nutrition Register (SENr)

  Sport and Recreation Alliance

  Sport England

*  UK Sport

  University of Central Lancashire, Institute of Coaching and Performance

  Professor Jose Viña, University of Valencia

  Professor Gerta Vrbova, University College London (UCL)

  Wellcome Trust

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012