Scottish independence: constitutional implications of the referendum - Constitution Committee Contents

Select Committee on the Constitution

The Constitution Committee is appointed by the House of Lords in each session with the following terms of reference:

To examine the constitutional implications of all public bills coming before the House; and to keep under review the operation of the constitution.

Current membership

Lord Crickhowell

Lord Cullen of Whitekirk

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Goldsmith

Lord Hart of Chilton

Lord Irvine of Lairg

Baroness Jay of Paddington (chairman)

Lord Lang of Monkton

Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Lord Lexden

Lord Powell of Bayswater

Baroness Wheatcroft

Declarations of interests

A full list of members' interests can be found in the Register of Lords' Interests:


All publications of the committee are available at:

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the committee's meetings are available at:

General information

General information about the House of Lords and its committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings, is available at:

Committee staff and legal advisers

The staff of the committee during this inquiry were Nicolas Besly (clerk), Dr Stuart Hallifax (policy analyst) and Helen Gibson (committee assistant). Professor Maurice Sunkin and Professor Adam Tomkins were legal advisers to the committee.

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the clerk of the Select Committee on the Constitution, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW.

The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5960.

The committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014