The Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership - European Union Committee Contents

The European Union Committee

The Committee considers EU documents in advance of decisions being taken on them in Brussels, in order to influence the Government's position and to hold them to account.

The Government are required to deposit EU documents in Parliament, and to produce within two weeks an Explanatory Memorandum setting out the implications for the UK. The Committee examines these documents, and 'holds under scrutiny' any about which it has concerns, entering into correspondence with the relevant Minister until satisfied. Letters must be answered within two weeks. Under the 'scrutiny reserve resolution', the Government may not agree in the EU Council of Ministers to any proposal still held under scrutiny; reasons must be given for any breach.

The Committee also conducts inquiries and makes reports. The Government are required to respond in writing to a report's recommendations within two months of publication. If the report is for debate, then there is a debate in the House of Lords, which a Minister attends and responds to.

The Committee has six Sub-Committees, which are:

Economic and Financial Affairs (Sub-Committee A)

Internal Market, Infrastructure and Employment (Sub-Committee B)

External Affairs (Sub-Committee C)

Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy (Sub-Committee D)

Justice, Institutions and Consumer Protection (Sub-Committee E)

Home Affairs, Health and Education (Sub-Committee F)

Our Membership

The Members of the European Union Committee are:
Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman) Lord Hannay of Chiswick The Earl of Sandwich
Lord Bowness Lord Harrison Baroness Scott of Needham Market
Lord Cameron of Dillington Lord Maclennan of Rogart Lord Tomlinson
Baroness Corston Lord Marlesford Lord Tugendhat
Lord Dear Baroness O'Cathain Lord Wilson of Tillyorn
Baroness Eccles of Moulton Baroness Parminter
Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Quin

The Members of the Sub-Committee on External Affairs, which conducted this inquiry, are:
Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Trimble
Baroness Coussins Lord Maclennan of Rogart Lord Tugendhat (Chairman)
Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Quin Baroness Young of Hornsey
Baroness Henig Lord Radice
Lord Jopling The Earl of Sandwich

Information about the Committee

For information freely available on the web, our homepage is

There you will find many of our publications, along with press notices, details of membership and forthcoming meetings, and other information about the ongoing work of the Committee and its Sub-Committees, each of which has its own homepage.

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Sub-Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Sub-Committee Staff

The staff of the Sub-Committee during the course of this inquiry were Julia Labeta (Clerk), Roshani Palamakumbura (Policy Analyst) and Edward Bolton (Committee Assistant).

Contacts for the European Union Committee

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. General enquiries 020 7219 5791. The Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014