Women in news and current affairs broadcasting - Communications Committee Contents


Evidence is published online at http://www.parliament.uk/women-in-news and available for inspection at the Parliamentary Archives (020 7219 5314).

Evidence received by the Committee is listed below in chronological order of oral evidence session and in alphabetical order. Those witnesses marked with ** gave both oral evidence and written evidence. Those marked with * gave oral evidence and did not submit any written evidence. All other witnesses submitted written evidence only.

Oral evidence in chronological order
*Professor Suzanne Franks, City University QQ 1-9
*Professor Karen Ross, Northumbria University
**Michelle Stanistreet, General Secretary, National Union of Journalists QQ 10-18
*Kate Kinninmont, Women in Film and Television
*Jane Martinson, Women in Journalism
**Fran Unsworth, Deputy Director of News and Current Affairs, BBC QQ 19-31
**John Hardie, Chief Executive Officer, ITN
**Jonathan Levy, Head of News Gathering, Sky News
*Sonita Alleyne, Trustee, BBC Trust QQ 32-41
*Richard Ayre, Trustee, BBC Trust
*Penny Marshall QQ 42-59
*Cathy Newman
*Miriam O'Reilly
*The Hon Ed Vaizey MP, Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy, Department for Culture, Media and Sport QQ 60-68
**The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP, Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Women and Equalities, Department for Education

Alphabetical list of all witnesses
Eve Ahmed WNC0002
Astute Radio WNC0009
**BBC (QQ 19-31) WNC0021


*BBC Trust (QQ 32-41)
Dr Cynthia Carter WNC0012
Channel 4 WNC0019
Channel 5 Broadcasting Ltd WNC0008
Creative Diversity Network WNC0023
Creative Skillset WNC0015
*Department for Culture, Media and Sport (QQ 60-68)
Dr Josephine Dolan WNC0018
*Professor Suzanne Franks (QQ 1-9)
Olenka Frenkiel WNC0022
Laura Frey WNC0010
Janet Graves WNC0001
**HMG, Government Equalities Office WNC0020
**ITN (QQ 19-31) WNC0014
ITV Plc WNC0017
Liz Leonard WNC0013
*Penny Marshall (QQ 42-59)
**National Union of Journalists (QQ 10-18) WNC0006
*Cathy Newman (QQ 42-59)
Ofcom WNC0007


Deirdre O'Neill WNC0004
*Miriam O'Reilly (QQ 42-59)
*Professor Karen Ross (QQ 1-9)
**Sky (QQ 19-31) WNC0003
Sound Women
Estella Tincknell WNC0018
*Women in Film and Television (QQ 10-18)
*Women in Journalism (QQ 10-18)

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015