A new EU Alcohol Strategy? - European Union Committee Contents

The European Union Committee

The Committee considers matters relating to the European Union.

The Committee scrutinises EU documents in advance of decisions being taken on them in Brussels, in order to influence the Government's position and to hold it to account. The Committee 'holds under scrutiny' any documents about which it has concerns, entering into correspondence with the relevant Minister until satisfied. Letters must be answered within two weeks. Under the 'scrutiny reserve resolution', the Government may not agree in the EU Council of Ministers to any proposal still held under scrutiny. The Government must give reasons for any breach of the scrutiny reserve.

The Committee also conducts inquiries and makes reports. The Government is required to respond in writing to a report's recommendations within two months of publication. If the Committee wishes, the report is debated in the House of Lords, during which a Minister responds to the points made by the Committee and the speakers during the debate. Reports are also usually sent to the European Commission, for it to consider and respond to any relevant points and recommendations.

The Committee has six Sub-Committees:
Economic and Financial Affairs
Internal Market, Infrastructure and Employment
External Affairs
Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy
Justice, Institutions and Consumer Protection
Home Affairs, Health and Education


The Members of the European Union Committee are:
Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)The Earl of Caithness Lord Cameron of Dillington
Baroness Eccles of MoultonLord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Harrison
Baroness HenigBaroness Hooper Lord Kerr of Kinlochard
Lord Maclennan of RogartBaroness O'Cathain Baroness Parminter
Baroness PrasharBaroness Quin Earl of Sandwich
Baroness Scott of Needham MarketLord Tomlinson Lord Tugendhat
Lord Wilson of Tillyorn

The Members of the Sub-Committee on Home Affairs, Health and Education, which conducted this inquiry, are:
Baroness Benjamin Lord BlencathraViscount Bridgeman
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLord Jay of Ewelme Lord Judd
Lord Morris of HandsworthBaroness Prashar (Chairman) Lord Sharkey
Earl of StairLord Tomlinson Lord Wasserman

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at: http://www.parliament.uk/hleuf

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at:

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Michael Collon (Clerk), Lena Donner (Policy Analyst) and George Masters (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email euclords@parliament.uk


You can follow the Committee on Twitter @LordsEUCom.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015