The UK's opt-in Protocol: implications of the Government's approach - European Union Committee Contents

The European Union Committee

The Committee considers matters relating to the European Union.

The Committee scrutinises EU documents in advance of decisions being taken on them in Brussels, in order to influence the Government's position and to hold it to account. The Committee 'holds under scrutiny' any documents about which it has concerns, entering into correspondence with the relevant Minister until satisfied. Letters must be answered within two weeks. Under the 'scrutiny reserve resolution', the Government may not agree in the EU Council of Ministers to any proposal still held under scrutiny. The Government must give reasons for any breach of the scrutiny reserve.

The Committee also conducts inquiries and makes reports. The Government is required to respond in writing to a report's recommendations within two months of publication. If the Committee wishes, the report is debated in the House of Lords, during which a Minister responds to the points made by the Committee and the speakers during the debate. Reports are also usually sent to the European Commission, for it to consider and respond to any relevant points and recommendations.

The Committee has six Sub-Committees:
Economic and Financial Affairs
Internal Market, Infrastructure and Employment
External Affairs
Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy
Justice, Institutions and Consumer Protection
Home Affairs, Health and Education


The Members of the European Union Committee are:
Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman) Earl of Caithness Lord Cameron of Dillington
Baroness Eccles of MoultonLord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Harrison
Baroness HenigBaroness Hooper Lord Kerr of Kinlochard
Lord Maclennan of RogartBaroness O'Cathain Baroness Parminter
Baroness PrasharBaroness Quin Earl of Sandwich
Baroness Scott of Needham MarketLord Tomlinson Lord Tugendhat
Lord Wilson of Tillyorn

The Members of the Sub-Committee on Justice, Institutions and Consumer Protection, which conducted this inquiry are:
Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Blair of Boughton Baroness Corston
Lord DykesBaroness Eccles of Moulton Viscount Eccles
Lord Elystan-Morgan Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke
Baroness O'LoanBaroness Quin (Chairman) Lord Richard
Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at:

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at:

Sub-Committee Committee Staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Paul Hardy (Legal Adviser), Tim Mitchell (Assistant Legal Adviser) Luke Hussey (Clerk) and Amanda McGrath (Committee Assistant).

Contacts details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. General enquiries 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter @LordsEUCom

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015