EU Data Protection law: a 'right to be forgotten'? - European Union Committee Contents

The European Union Committee

The Committee considers matters relating to the European Union.

The Committee scrutinises EU documents in advance of decisions being taken on them in Brussels, in order to influence the Government's position and to hold it to account. The Committee 'holds under scrutiny' any documents about which it has concerns, entering into correspondence with the relevant Minister until satisfied. Letters must be answered within two weeks. Under the 'scrutiny reserve resolution', the Government may not agree in the EU Council of Ministers to any proposal still held under scrutiny. The Government must give reasons for any breach of the scrutiny reserve.

The Committee also conducts inquiries and makes reports. The Government is required to respond in writing to a report's recommendations within two months of publication. If the Committee wishes, the report is debated in the House of Lords, during which a Minister responds to the points made by the Committee and the speakers during the debate. Reports are also usually sent to the European Commission, for it to consider and respond to any relevant points and recommendations.

The Committee has six Sub-Committees:
Economic and Financial Affairs (Sub-Committee A)
Internal Market, Infrastructure and Employment (Sub-Committee B)
External Affairs (Sub-Committee C)
Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy (Sub-Committee D)
Justice, Institutions and Consumer Protection (Sub-Committee E)
Home Affairs, Health and Education (Sub-Committee F)


The Members of the European Union Committee are:
Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)Baroness Hooper The Earl of Sandwich
The Earl of CaithnessLord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness Scott of Needham Market
Lord Cameron of DillingtonLord Maclennan of Rogart Lord Tomlinson
Baroness Corston Baroness O'Cathain Lord Tugendhat
Baroness Eccles of MoultonBaroness Parminter Lord Wilson of Tillyorn
Lord Foulkes of CumnockBaroness Prashar
Lord HarrisonBaroness Quin

The Members of the Sub-Committee on Home Affairs, Health and Education (Sub Committee F), which conducted this inquiry, are:
Baroness Benjamin Baroness Prashar (Chairman)
Lord BlencathraLord Morris of Handsworth
Viscount BridgemanLord Sharkey
Lord Faulkner of Worcester The Earl of Stair
Lord Jay of EwelmeLord Tomlinson
Lord JuddLord Wasserman

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at:

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at:

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Michael Collon (Clerk), Paul Dowling (Policy Analyst) and George Masters (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014