Subsidiarity Assessment: reform of the electoral law of the EU Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Blair of Boughton

Lord Borwick

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

The Earl of Caithness

Lord Davies of Stamford

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Lord Liddle

Lord Mawson

Baroness Prashar

Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Baroness Suttie

Lord Trees

Lord Tugendhat

Lord Whitty

Baroness Wilcox

The Members of the EU Justice Sub-Committee, which agreed this Report, are:

Lord Blair of Boughton

Lord Cromwell

Baroness Eccles of Moulton

Baroness Hughes of Stretford

Lord Judd

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws (Chairman)

Baroness Ludford

Baroness Neuberger

Baroness Newlove

Lord Richard

Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Paul Hardy (Legal Adviser), Tim Mitchell (Assistant Legal Adviser), Megan Conway (Clerk) and Amanda McGrath (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2016