English votes for English laws Contents

Select Committee on the Constitution

6th Report of Session 2016–17

English votes for English laws

Ordered to be printed 31 October 2016 and published 2 November 2016

Published by the Authority of the House of Lords

HL Paper 61

Select Committee on the Constitution

The Constitution Committee is appointed by the House of Lords in each session “to examine the constitutional implications of all public bills coming before the House; and to keep under review the operation of the constitution.”


The Members of the Constitution Committee are:

Lord Beith

Lord Judge

Lord Morgan

Lord Brennan

Lord Lang of Monkton (Chairman)

Lord Norton of Louth

Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde

Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market

Lord Pannick

Lord Hunt of Wirral

Lord Maclennan of Rogart

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Declarations of interests

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:


All publications of the committee are available at:

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the committee’s meetings are available at:

Further information

Further information about the House of Lords and its committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is available at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the committee are Antony Willott (Clerk) and Hadia Garwell (Committee Assistant). Professor Stephen Tierney and Professor Mark Elliott are the legal advisers to the Committee.

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the Constitution Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5960. Email constitution@parliament.uk

© Parliamentary copyright 2016