Brexit: trade in non-financial services Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters related to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect to the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Lord Trees

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

Earl of Kinnoull

Baroness Verma

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Lord Liddle

Lord Whitty

Baroness Browning

Baroness Prashar

Baroness Wilcox

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Lord Woolmer of Leeds

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint

Baroness Suttie

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Teverson

The Members of the Internal Market Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Aberdare

Lord Lansley

Baroness Randerson

Baroness Donaghy

Lord Liddle

Lord Rees of Ludlow

Lord German

Lord Mawson

Lord Wei

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint

Baroness Noakes

Lord Whitty (Chairman)

Further Information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meeting and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees are available at

Sub-Committee Staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Pippa Westwood (Clerk), Rosanna Barry (Policy Analyst) and Anastasia Kvaskova (Committee Assistant)

Contact Details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2017