Brexit: financial services Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Baroness Suttie

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Lord Teverson

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

The Earl of Kinnoull

Lord Trees

Baroness Browning

Lord Liddle

Baroness Verma

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Prashar

Lord Whitty

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Baroness Wilcox

The Members of the Financial Affairs Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Butler of Brockwell

Lord Desai

Lord Shutt of Greetland

Lord Callanan

Lord Haskins

Lord Skidelsky

Baroness Falkner of Margravine (Chairman)

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

The Duke of Wellington

Lord De Mauley

The Earl of Lindsay

Lord Woolmer of Leeds

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The staff of the Sub-Committee during this inquiry were John Turner (Clerk), Katie Kochmann (Policy Analyst) and Munira Heptullabhai (Committee Assistant)

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2016