AI in the UK: ready, willing and able? Contents

Select Committee on Artificial Intelligence

The Select Committee on Artificial Intelligence was appointed by the House of Lords on 29 June 2017 “to consider the economic, ethical and social implications of advances in artificial intelligence.”


The Members of the Select Committee on Artificial Intelligence were:

Baroness Bakewell

The Lord Bishop of Oxford

Lord Clement-Jones (Chairman)

Lord Puttnam

Lord Giddens

Viscount Ridley

Baroness Grender

Baroness Rock

Lord Hollick

Lord St John of Bletso

Lord Holmes of Richmond

Lord Swinfen

Lord Levene of Portsoken

Declaration of interests

See Appendix 1.

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:


All publications of the Committee are available at:

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the Committee’s meetings are available at:

Further information

Further information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is available at:

Committee staff

The staff who worked on this inquiry Committee were Luke Hussey (Clerk), Dr Ben Taylor (Policy Analyst) and Hannah Murdoch (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the Select Committee on Artificial Intelligence, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 4384. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsAICom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2018