Brexit: the proposed UK-EU security treaty Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters related to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect to the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Noakes

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Risby

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Baroness Suttie

Baroness Browning

The Earl of Kinnoull

Lord Teverson

Lord Crisp

Lord Liddle

Baroness Verma

Lord Cromwell

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Whitty

The Members of the Home Affairs Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Baroness Browning

Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate

Lord Ribeiro

Lord Crisp

Baroness Massey of Darwen

Lord Ricketts

Baroness Janke

Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan

Lord Soley

Lord Jay of Ewelme (Chairman)

Baroness Pinnock

Lord Watts

Further Information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee Staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Tristan Stubbs (Clerk), Megan Jones (Policy Analyst), Katie Barraclough (Policy Analyst until 4 June 2018), George Stafford (Committee Assistant) and Sam Lomas (Committee Assistant until 24 June 2018).

Contact Details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2018