Brexit: the European Investment Bank Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

The Earl of Kinnoull

Lord Risby

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

Lord Liddle

Lord Soley

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Baroness Suttie

Lord Cromwell

Baroness Noakes

Lord Teverson

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Polak

Baroness Verma

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Ricketts

Lord Whitty

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

The Members of the EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Desai

The Earl of Lindsay

Lord Butler of Brockwell

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Cavendish of Furness


Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Lord De Mauley

Lord Giddens

Viscount Trenchard

(to 15 January 2019)

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Further information

Publications, press notices, of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Matthew Manning (Clerk), Erik Tate, (Policy Analyst), Hadia Garwell (Committee Assistant) and Clare Coast-Smith (Committee Assistant until 15 January 2019).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2019