The EU fisheries landing obligation: six months on Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chair)

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Ricketts

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Soley

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Teverson

Baroness Couttie

The Earl of Kinnoull

Baroness Verma

Baroness Donaghy

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Wood of Anfield

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Polak

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Primarolo

The Members of the EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Cameron of Dillington

Lord Rooker

Lord Teverson (Chair)

Viscount Hanworth

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Baroness Wilcox

Lord Krebs

Baroness Sheehan

Lord Young of Norwood Green

The Duke of Montrose

The Earl of Stair

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Jennifer Mills (Clerk), Alexandra McMillan (Clerk), Jodie Evans (Committee Assistant) and Sally Dray (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2019