Operation Sophia: a failed mission Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Teverson

Lord Boswell of Aynho (Chairman)

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Baroness Verma

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

The Earl of Kinnoull

Lord Whitty

Baroness Browning

Lord Liddle

Baroness Wilcox

Lord Crisp

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Woolmer of Leeds

Lord Cromwell

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Suttie

The Members of the External Affairs Sub-Committee are:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Manzoor

Baroness Suttie

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Earl of Oxford and Asquith

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Dubs

Lord Risby

Lord Triesman

Lord Horam

Lord Stirrup

Baroness Verma (Chairman)

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at http://www.parliament.uk/hleu.

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Eva George (Clerk), Julia Ewert (Policy Analyst) and Lauren Harvey (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email euclords@parliament.uk.


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2017