22nd Report Contents

Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee (Sub-Committee A)

The Committee’s terms of reference, as amended on 11 July 2018, are set out on the website but are, broadly:

To report on draft instruments and memoranda laid before Parliament under sections 8, 9 and 23(1) of the European Withdrawal Act 2018.

And, to scrutinise –

(a) every instrument (whether or not a statutory instrument), or draft of an instrument, which is laid before each House of Parliament and upon which proceedings may be, or might have been, taken in either House of Parliament under an Act of Parliament;

(b) every proposal which is in the form of a draft of such an instrument and is laid before each House of Parliament under an Act of Parliament,

with a view to determining whether or not the special attention of the House should be drawn to it on any of the grounds specified in the terms of reference.

The Committee may also consider such other general matters relating to the effective scrutiny of secondary legislation as the Committee considers appropriate, except matters within the orders of reference of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments.


Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Haskel

Rt Hon. Lord Trefgarne (Chairman)

Rt Hon. Lord Chartres

Lord Hogan-Howe

Rt Hon. Lord Walker of Gestingthorpe

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Rt Hon. Lord Lilley

Lord Wood of Anfield

Baroness Finn

Lord Sharkey

Registered interests

Information about interests of Committee Members can be found in the last Appendix to this report.


The Sub-Committee’s Reports are published on the internet at http://www.parliament.uk/seclegapublications

The National Archives publish statutory instruments with a plain English explanatory memorandum on the internet at http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi

Committee Staff

The staff of the Committee are Christine Salmon Percival (Clerk), Helen Gahir (Adviser), Nadine McNally (Adviser), Philipp Mende (Adviser), Jane White (Adviser), Louise Andrews (Committee Assistant), Ben Dunleavy (Committee Assistant) and Paul Bristow (Specialist Adviser).

Information and Contacts

Any query about the Committee or its work, or opinions on any new item of secondary legislation, should be directed to the Clerk to the Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee, Legislation Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. The telephone number is 020 7219 8821 and the email address is hlseclegscrutiny@parliament.uk.

© Parliamentary copyright 2019