A Question of Confidence? The Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 Contents

Select Committee on the Constitution

The Constitution Committee is appointed by the House of Lords in each session “to examine the constitutional implications of public bills coming before the House; and to keep under review the operation of the constitution and constitutional aspects of devolution.”


The Members of the Constitution Committee are:

Lord Beith

Baroness Fookes

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Baroness Corston

Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield

Baroness Taylor of Bolton (Chair)

Baroness Drake

Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Lord Dunlop

Lord Howell of Guildford

Lord Faulks

Lord Pannick

Declaration of interests

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:


All publications of the Committee are available at:http://www.parliament.uk/hlconstitution

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the Committee’s meetings are available at:http://www.parliamentlive.tv

Further information

Further information about the House of Lords and its committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is available at:http://www.parliament.uk/business/lords

Committee staff

The staff of the committee are Matt Korris (Clerk), Matt Byatt (Policy Analyst) and Alasdair Johnston (Committee Assistant). Professor Stephen Tierney and Professor Jeff King are the legal advisers to the Committee.

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the Constitution Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5960. Email constitution@parliament.uk

© Parliamentary copyright 2020