Universal Credit isn’t working: proposals for reform Contents

Economic Affairs Committee

The Economic Affairs Committee was appointed by the House of Lords in this session to “consider economic affairs”.


The Members of the Economic Affairs Committee are:

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Baroness Kingsmill CBE

Lord Burns GCB

Lord Livingston of Parkhead

Viscount Chandos

Lord Monks of Blackley

Lord Cunningham of Felling

Lord Skidelsky

Lord Forsyth of Drumlean (Chair)

Lord Stern of Brentford

Lord Fox

Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Harding of Winscombe

Declaration of Interests

See Appendix 1.

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:


All publications of the Committee are available at:

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the Committee’s meetings are available at:

Further information

Further information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is available at:

Committee staff

The staff who worked on this inquiry were Adrian Hitchins (Clerk), Dr William Harvey (Policy Analyst) and Mithula Parayoganathan (Committee Assistant). Fran Bennett and Jane Millar were the Committee’s specialist advisers for this inquiry.

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the Economic Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, SW1A 0PW. Telephone: 0208 7219 5358. Email: economicaffairs@parliament.uk


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEconCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2020