Scrutiny of international agreements: treaties considered on 4 February 2020 Contents

Appendix 1: List of Members, declarations of interest and Sub-Committee staff

Members of the European Union Select Committee

The Earl of Kinnoull (Chair)

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Baroness Couttie

Baroness Donaghy

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Lord Morris of Aberavon

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Oates

Baroness Primarolo

Lord Ricketts

Lord Sharkey

Lord Teverson

Baroness Verma

Lord Wood of Anfield

Declarations of interest

The Earl of Kinnoull (Chair)

Farming interests as principal and as charitable trustee, in receipt of agricultural subsidy

Chairman, Culture Perth and Kinross, in receipt of governmental subsidy

Chairman, United Kingdom Squirrel Accord, in receipt of governmental monies

Shareholdings as set out in the register

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Vice Chair of the Committee on Climate Change

Chair of the Adaptation Sub-Committee of the Committee on Climate Change

Chair of the Henry Royce Institute for Advanced Materials

Chair of STEM Learning Ltd

Non-Executive Director of the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult

Chair of The Carbon Trust

Council member of Innovate UK

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Director, Burlington Slate Limited

Shareholder, Holker Holdings Limited

Shareholder, Cartmel Steeplechases (Holker) Limited

Shareholder, Holker Estates Co Limited

Shareholder, Holker Homes Limited

Shareholder, Burlington Slate Limited

Roose and Walney Sand and Gravel Company Limited (The) (Dormant)

Holker Estates Co Limited

Holker Holdings Limited

Cartmel Steeplechases (Holker) Limited

Corrie and Co Limited

Guides over the Kent and Levens Sands Limited

Beneficiary of a Family Trust which owns land in South Cumbria, including residential and business property

Owner of a flat in London SW1 from which rental income is received

Owner of woodlands based in South Cumbria

Baroness Couttie

Non-Executive Director, Mitie

Commissioner, Guernsey Financial Services Commission

Baroness Donaghy

Former President of the Trades Union Congress

Former member of the European Trades Union Congress

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Chairman, Great Western Railway Advisory Board

Chairman, Alderney Gambling Control Commission

Her Majesty’s Government’s Trade Envoy to Taiwan

Baroness Hamwee

Liberal Democrat Lords Spokesperson on Immigration

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Trustee (Non-Executive Director), Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company

Vice Chairman, European Policy Forum Advisory Council

Member, Senior European Experts Group

Trustee, Magdalen College, Oxford Development Trust

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Chairman, Centre for European Reform

Deputy Chairman, Scottish Power PLC

Member, Scottish Government’s advisory Standing Council on Europe

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Director, Jupiter European Opportunities Trust

Director, Compagnie Internationale de Participations Bancaires et Financieres (CIPAF)

Director, Chelverton UK Dividend Trust

Adviser, Halkin Investments

Adviser, Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum (OMFIF)

Adviser, Meinhardt Engineering Group, Singapore

Adviser, Stanhope Capital LLP

Lord Morris of Aberavon

No relevant interests declared

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Former Commercial Secretary, HM Treasury

Former Minister of State for Energy and Intellectual Property

Chair, UK ASEAN Business Council

Non-Executive Director, Capita Plc

Non-Executive Director, Secure Trust Bank Plc

Non-Executive Director, Health Data Research UK

Trustee (Non-Executive Director), Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company

Shareholdings as set out in the register

Lord Oates

Director, Centre for Countering Digital Hate

Chairman, Advisory Board, Weber Shandwick UK

Non-Executive Director, NHSBT

Baroness Primarolo

Non-executive director and chair, Thompson’s Solicitors

Chair, Remuneration Board, National Assembly for Wales

Lord Ricketts

Non-Executive Director, Group Engie, France

Strategic Adviser, Lockheed Martin UK

Charitable activities as set out in the Register of Interests

Lord Sharkey

No relevant interests declared

Lord Teverson

Trustee, Regen SW

In receipt of a pension from the European Parliament

Baroness Verma

No relevant interests declared

Lord Wood of Anfield

Chair of the United Nations Association (UNA-UK)

Director, Good Law Project

Dr Holger Hestermeyer, Shell Reader in International Dispute Resolution at King’s College London, is acting as Specialist Adviser supporting the Committee’s scrutiny of international agreements, and has declared no relevant interests.

Sub-Committee Members and staff

EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

Lord Teverson (Chair)

Lord Addington

Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom

Baroness Bryan of Partick

Baroness Byford

Lord Cameron of Dillington

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Baroness McIntosh of Pickering

Lord Maxton

The Duke of Montrose

The Earl of Stair

Lord Young of Norwood Green

For relevant interests see:–19/DoI_Scrutiny_2017–19.pdf

The Sub-Committee staff are Jennifer Mills (Clerk) Oliver Rix (Policy Analyst) and Jodie Evans (Committee Assistant).

EU External Affairs Sub-Committee

Baroness Verma (Chair)

Lord Alderdice

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Baroness Chalker of Wallasey

Lord Davies of Stamford

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Finn

Lord Fraser of Corriegarth

Lord Oates

The Earl of Sandwich

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Wood of Anfield

For relevant interests see:

The Sub-Committee staff are Jennifer Martin-Kohlmorgen (Clerk) and Laura Ayres (Committee Assistant).

EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Lord Sharkey (Chair)

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Baroness Couttie

Lord Desai

Lord Giddens

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Viscount Trenchard

Lord Turnbull

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

For relevant interests see:–19/Interests-2017–19.pdf

The Sub-Committee staff are Dee Goddard (Clerk), Erik Tate (Policy Analyst) and Hadia Garwell (Committee Assistant).

EU Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Lord Jay of Ewelme (Chair)

Lord Best

Baroness Jolly

Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate

Lord Lexden

Lord McNally

Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan

Baroness Primarolo

Lord Ricketts

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Soley

Lord Watts

For relevant interests see:

The Sub-Committee staff are Simon Pook (Clerk), Genevieve Richardson (Policy Analyst) and George Stafford (Committee Assistant).

EU Internal Market Sub-Committee

Baroness Donaghy (Chair)

Lord Berkeley

Lord Carter of Coles

Baroness Kramer

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Lord Lansley

Lord Lilley

Lord Mountevans

Baroness Prashar

Lord Robathan

Lord Russell of Liverpool

Lord Shipley

Lord Wigley

For relevant interests see:–19.pdf

The Sub-Committee staff are Dominique Gracia (Clerk), Francesca D’Urzo (Policy Analyst) and Glenn Chapman (Committee Assistant).

EU Justice Sub-Committee

Lord Morris of Aberavon (Chair)

Lord Anderson of Ipswich

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Baroness Deech

Lord Dholakia

Lord Gold

Baroness Goudie

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Polak

Lord Rowlands

For relevant interests see:–19.pdf

The Sub-Committee staff are Alex McMillan (Clerk) and Amanda McGrath (Committee Assistant).

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:

© Parliamentary copyright 2018