The future UK-EU relationship on professional and business services Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters relating to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect of the EU; considers and seeks to influence the development of policies and draft laws proposed by the EU institutions; and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the EU institutions and other Member States.

The five Sub-Committees are as follows:

EU Environment Sub-Committee

EU Goods Sub-Committee

EU Security and Justice Sub-Committee

EU Services Sub-Committee

International Agreements Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Sharkey

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Earl of Kinnoull (Chair)

Lord Teverson

Baroness Couttie

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Baroness Donaghy

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Baroness Verma

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Oates

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Goldsmith

Baroness Primarolo

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Ricketts

The Members of the EU Services Sub-Committee, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Baroness Donaghy (Chair)

Lord Sharkey

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Lord McNally

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Baroness Couttie

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Viscount Trenchard

Lord Davies of Stamford

Baroness Prashar

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The staff of the Sub-Committee are Dee Goddard (Clerk), Francesca D’Urzo (Policy Analyst), Erik Tate (Policy Analyst) and Hadia Garwell (Committee Assistant).

Contact details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2020