Scrutiny of international agreements: treaties considered on 11 February 2020 Contents

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed each session “to scrutinise documents deposited in the House by a Minister, and other matters related to the European Union”.

In practice this means that the Select Committee, along with its Sub-Committees, scrutinises the UK Government’s policies and actions in respect to the EU, and more generally represents the House of Lords in its dealings with the institutions and Member States of the EU.

The six Sub-Committees are as follows:

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Justice Sub-Committee


The Members of the European Union Select Committee are:

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Ricketts

Lord Cavendish of Furness

Earl of Kinnoull (Chair)

Lord Sharkey

Baroness Couttie

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Lord Teverson

Baroness Donaghy

Lord Morris of Aberavon

Baroness Verma

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Lord Wood of Anfield

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Oates

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Baroness Primarolo

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meeting and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees are available at

Committee Staff

The current staff of the Committee are Christopher Johnson (Principal Clerk), Stuart Stoner (Clerk), George Webber (Second Clerk), Tim Mitchell (Legal Adviser), Alex Horne (Legal Adviser) and Samuel Lomas (Committee Assistant).

Contact Details

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEUCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2020