Resumption of hereditary peers’ by-elections Contents

Procedure and Privileges Committee

The Select Committee on Procedure and Privileges of the House is appointed each session to consider any proposals for alterations in the procedure of the House that may arise from time to time, and whether the standing orders require to be amended.


The members of the Procedure and Privileges Committee are:

Lord Ashton of Hyde

Lord McAvoy

Lord Bew

Lord McFall of Alcluith (Chair)

Lord Eames

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Baroness Evans of Bowes Park

Lord Newby

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Quin

Lord Fowler (Lord Speaker)

Baroness Smith of Basildon

Lord Geddes

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Judge

Viscount Ullswater

Lord Mancroft

Alternate members:

Baroness Browning (for backbench Conservative members)

Baroness Finaly of Llandaff (for Crossbench members, other than the Convenor)

Baroness Goudie (for backbench Labour members)

Lord Alderdice (for backbench Liberal Democrat members)

Lord Turnbull (for the Convenor)

Declaration of interests

A full list of Members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests:


All publications of the Committee are available at:

Parliament Live

Live coverage of debates and public sessions of the Committee’s meetings are available at:

Further information

Further information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is available at:

Contact details

All correspondence should be addressed to the clerk of the Procedure and Privileges Committee, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 8796/1624. Email mawsonc

© Parliamentary copyright 2021