Report from the Sub-Committee on the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland: Introductory report Contents

The European Affairs Committee and the Sub-Committee on the
Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland

The European Affairs Committee was appointed to consider matters relating to the United Kingdom’s relationship with the European Union and the European Economic Area, including the implementation and governance structures of any agreements between the United Kingdom and the European Union; to consider European Union documents deposited in the House by a minister; and to support the House as appropriate in interparliamentary cooperation with the European Parliament and the Member States of the European Union.

The Sub-Committee on the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland was appointed by the European Affairs Committee to consider all matters related to the Protocol, including scrutiny of: EU legislation within the scope of the Protocol; relevant domestic UK legislation and policy; the Northern Ireland-related work of the governance bodies established under the UK-EU Withdrawal Agreement; the Protocol’s political and socio-economic impact on Northern Ireland; and its impact on UK-Irish bilateral relations; as well as conducting interparliamentary dialogue, including with the Northern Ireland Assembly and Irish Oireachtas.


The Members of the European Affairs Committee are:

Baroness Couttie

Baroness Jolly

Lord Purvis of Tweed

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Earl of Kinnoull (Chair)

Viscount Trenchard

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Lord Tugendhat

Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Lord Liddle

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Jay of Ewelme

The Members of the Sub-Committee on the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland, which conducted this inquiry, are:

Lord Caine

Baroness Goudie

Baroness O’Loan

Lord Dodds of Duncairn

Lord Hain

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Empey

Lord Hannan of Kingsclere

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Jay of Ewelme (Chair)

Further information

Publications, press notices, details of membership, forthcoming meetings and other information is available at

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees is available at

Sub-Committee staff

The current staff of the Sub-Committee are Stuart Stoner (Clerk), Tim Mitchell (European Legal Adviser), Genevieve Richardson (Policy Analyst) and Breda Twomey (Committee Operations Officer).

Contact details

Contact details for the Sub-Committees are given on the website. General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 5791. Email


You can follow the Committee on Twitter: @LordsEuCom.

© Parliamentary copyright 2021