Twenty Second Report Contents

Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee

The Committee’s terms of reference, as amended on 13 May 2021, are set out on the website but are, broadly:

To report on draft instruments published under paragraph 14 of Schedule 8 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018; to report on draft instruments and memoranda laid before Parliament under sections 8 and 23(1) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 and section 31 of the European Union (Future Relationship) Act 2020.

And, to scrutinise –

(a) every instrument (whether or not a statutory instrument), or draft of an instrument, which is laid before each House of Parliament and upon which proceedings may be, or might have been, taken in either House of Parliament under an Act of Parliament;

(b) every proposal which is in the form of a draft of such an instrument and is laid before each House of Parliament under an Act of Parliament,

with a view to determining whether or not the special attention of the House should be drawn to it on any of the grounds specified in the terms of reference.

The Committee may also consider such other general matters relating to the effective scrutiny of secondary legislation as the Committee considers appropriate, except matters within the orders of reference of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments.


Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville

Viscount Hanworth

The Earl of Lindsay

Rt Hon. Lord Chartres

Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts

Lord Lisvane

Rt Hon. Lord Cunningham of Felling


Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Lord German

Rt Hon. Lord Hutton of Furness

Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Registered interests

Information about interests of Committee Members can be found in the last Appendix to this report.


The Committee’s Reports are published on the internet at

Committee Staff

The staff of the Committee are Christine Salmon Percival (Clerk), Philipp Mende (Adviser), Jane White (Adviser) and Emily Pughe (Committee Operations Officer).

Further Information

Further information about the Committee is available at

The progress of statutory instruments can be followed at

The National Archives publish statutory instruments with a plain English explanatory memorandum on the internet at


Any query about the Committee or its work, or opinions on any new item of secondary legislation, should be directed to the Clerk to the Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee, Legislation Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. The telephone number is 020 7219 8821 and the email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2021