Select Committee on International Development Fourth Report

Annex: The Committee's visit programme in the Occupied Palestinian Territories and Israel

The group consisted of:

Malcolm Bruce (Chairman)  Quentin Davies

John Barrett       James Duddridge

John Battle      Ann McKechin

John Bercow       Joan Ruddock

Richard Burden

Accompanied by:  Carol Oxborough (Clerk), Anna Dickson (Committee Specialist)



Briefing from Department for International Development and Foreign & Commonwealth officials

Meeting with David Shearer, Head, UN Office for Co-ordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), OPTs


Meeting with Rafiq Husseini, Chief of Staff to the Palestinian President

Roundtable with Palestinian businessmen:

  • Mr Mazen Sinokrot (Chairman, Sinokrot Global Group)
  • Mr Jihad al Wazir (Deputy Governor, Palestinian Monetary Authority)
  • Mr Talal Nasser Eddin (Chairman and CEO Birzeit Pharmaceutical Group)
  • Mr Mazen Jadallah (Director General, Palestinian Ministry of Finance)

Meeting with Negotiations Affairs Department and Negotiations Support Unit

Group 1: Meeting with Salaam Fayyad, Member of the Palestinian Parliament and former Minister of Finance

Group 2: Meeting with Mahdi Abdul Hadi, Palestinian Academic Society for the Study of International Affairs (PASSIA)

Meeting with Hanan Ashwari, Secretary General, Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (MIFTAH); Janet Michael, Mayor of Ramallah; and Lanis Alami, Director of the Palestinian Independent Commission for Human Rights


Northern West Bank (organised by UN Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA))

Visits to Za'atara, Huwwarra and Beit Iba Checkpoints.

Visit to Balata Refugee Camp. Meetings with UNRWA officials, school staff and pupils and the Balata Camp Popular Committee

Visit to Awarta Checkpoint

Visit to Deir al Hatab and meeting with village Women's Association


Meeting with David Craig, Country Director, West Bank and Gaza, World Bank

Meeting with John Kjaer, Head of Mission, European Commission, Jerusalem

Meeting with British journalists based in the OPTs



Meeting with Amos Gill, Executive Director, Ir Amin


Meeting with Jaad Isaac, Director, Applied Research Institute

Meeting with Zahi Khoury, Palestinian businessman and Chairman of the National Beverage Company


Meeting with Terry Boulata, lobbyist and advocate

Group 1 — Meeting with the EU Co-ordinating Office for Palestinian Police Support (EUCOPPS) and the EU Border Assistance Mission (EUBAM)

Group 2 — Meeting with the EU Temporary International Mechanism Team

Civil Society Roundtable

  • Andre Batarseh, East Jerusalem YMCA
  • Rula Nesnas, Palestinian Agricultural Relief Committee (PARC)
  • Iman Hammouri, Palestinian Non-Governmental Organisations
  • Rania Kuttench, Palestinian Non-Governmental Organisations
  • Mazen Hashweh, Director of Resource Development, Welfare Association
  • Dr Tawfiq Nasser, East Jerusalem Hospitals Network
  • Abed Al Qader Husseini, Faisal Husseini Foundation

Meeting with General Keith Dayton, US Security Co-ordinator


Shilo Settlement

Meeting with Yisrael Medad, Settler representative


Meeting with officials from the Centre for International Development Co-operation of the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MASHAV)

Meeting with Nimrod Barkan, Head of Political Research Department and Daniel Taub, Deputy Legal Adviser, Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Tel Aviv

Meeting with Ephraim Sneh, Deputy Defence Minister

Meeting with Shalom Turgeman, Foreign Policy Adviser and Yoram Turbowicz, Chief of Staff, Prime Minister's Office

Meeting with General Speigle, Chief Policy Adviser to the Defence Minister and Hagai Alon, Adviser on Palestinian Issues, Ministry of Defence

Meeting with human rights and civil society organisations:

Economic Cooperation Foundation


International Women's Commission

Peace Now

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 31 January 2007