The future of Scottish agriculture post-Brexit Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 30 October 2018

Jonnie Hall, Director of Policy and Member Services, NFU Scotland, Vicki Swales, RSPB/Scottish Environment LINK, John Kinnaird, National Council of Rural Advisers, Russell Smith, Scottish Crofting Federation, Fergus Ewing MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy, Scottish Government via videolink


Wednesday 31 October 2018

George Eustice MP, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, UK Government


Monday 28 January 2019

Jonnie Hall, Director of Policy, NFU Scotland, Eleanor Kay, Agricultural Policy Adviser, Scottish Land and Estates, Russell Smith, Chair, Scottish Crofting Federation, Kate Rowell, Chair, Quality Meat Scotland, Professor Michael Keating, Professor of Politics, University of Aberdeen and Centre on Constitutional Change, Dr Ann Bruce, Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh, Steven Thomson, Senior Agricultural Economist, Scotland’s Rural College, Paul Flanagan, Director for Scotland, AHDB


Tuesday 26 February 2019

Bruce Wilson, Public Affairs Manager, Scottish Wildlife Trust, Sheila George, Food and Environment Policy Manager, WWF Scotland, Professor Colin Reid, Professor of Environmental Law, University of Dundee, and Aoife Behan, Director of Soil Association Scotland


Tuesday 19 March 2019

John Fyall, Former Chairman, National Sheep Association Scotland, Willie Campbell, Council Member, First Milk, Scott Henderson, Vice-Chair, Scotch Beef Association, Lorne Watson, Seeds Committee Chair, Agricultural Industries Confederation, Professor Julie Fitzpatrick, Royal Society of Edinburgh, John Kinnaird, National Council of Rural Advisers, Michael Clancy, Director of Law Reform, Law Society of Scotland


Tuesday 23 April 2019

James Porter, Angus Growers, Sir John Campbell, Glenrath Egg Farms Ltd, Archie Gibson, Agrico UK Ltd, Stephanie Maurel, Chief Executive, Concordia, Matthew Jarett, Managing Director, Pro-Force Ltd


Tuesday 14 May 2019

Fergus Ewing MSP, Cabinet Secretary for the Rural Economy, David Barnes, National Adviser on Agriculture Policy, Scottish Government, Andrew Watson, Deputy Director for Agricultural Policy Implementation, Scottish Government (via videolink)


Wednesday 5 June 2019

Michael Gove MP, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Guy Horsington, Deputy Director for Future Farming Policy and the Agriculture Bill


Published: 31 July 2019