The accountability of civil servants - Constitution Committee Contents


The members of the committee that conducted the inquiry were—

Lord Crickhowell

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Goldsmith

Lord Hart of Chilton

Lord Irvine of Lairg

Baroness Jay of Paddington (chairman)

Lord Lang of Monkton (from 24 May 2012)

Lord Lexden

Lord Macdonald of River Glaven

Lord Pannick

Lord Powell of Bayswater

Lord Renton of Mount Harry (until 24 May 2012)

Lord Shaw of Northstead (until 17 October 2012)

Baroness Wheatcroft (from 17 October 2012)

Professor Richard Rawlings, Professor of Public Law at the University College London, and Professor Adam Tomkins, John Millar Professor of Public Law at the University of Glasgow, acted as specialist advisers for the inquiry.

Declarations of interests

The following interests were declared—

Lord Hart of Chilton

Paid special adviser to two Lord Chancellors (Lord Irvine of Lairg and Lord Falconer of Thoroton).

Lord Irvine of Lairg

Lord Chancellor from 1997 to 2003.

Lord Lang of Monkton

Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments (has dealings with 4 to 6 civil servants who service the committee, and with senior civil servants and special advisers, whose future employment plans are vetted by the committee).

Lord Macdonald of River Glaven

Former Permanent Secretary of the Crown Prosecution Service.

Practising barrister (Queen's Counsel).

Deputy High Court Judge sitting in the Administrative Court.

Lord Pannick

Practising member of the Bar.

Lord Powell of Bayswater

Former civil servant.

A full list of members' interests can be found in the Register of Lords' Interests:

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012